Newport City Government

Newport KY Board of Commissioners

Pictured above from left to right are: Larisa Sims, Assistant to the City Manager; Commissioner Frank Peluso; Commissioner Beth Fennell; Mayor Jerry Peluso; Commissioner Tom Guidugli Jr.; Commissioner Ken Rechtin; and City Manager Thomas Fromme.

The City of Newport Board of Commissioners is made up of four commissioners, elected at large, and a mayor, who serves as Chairman of the Board. Legislative authority is vested in the Mayor and Board of Commissioners, while the City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the city.

City Departments

The City Manager serves as the chief executive officer of the city.

The Development Services Director oversees Planning and Zoning, Code Enforcement, and Historic Preservation.

The Community Services Director oversees the Public Works Department and Parks and Recreation.

The Finance Department handles taxes, occupational licensing, and accounts payable and receivable.

The Fire/EMS Department is headquartered at 10th and Monmouth.

The Police Department operates from 10th and Monmouth.

Board with City Manager and Police Chief

Upcoming Events